Poets logo

unceasing grief

fathers day

By Danat DanielPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
unceasing grief
Photo by Matt Gross on Unsplash

i can’t put my mind into words

my thoughts into voice

am i always going to meet the same fate?

why are they laughing at me?

this isn’t how i wanted it

i wanted it to be done with

why isn’t he here?

i thought he loved me

he told me i was his second half

and yet he walks so easily without the filling of

me

who am i?

what am i?

are they really talking to me or am i overthinking?

why am i a bad friend?

why do i make mistakes?

was i a mistake?

these thoughts

hurt to swallow

pain to oversee

the only grief i carry is the weight of my dead body

and yet it drags around the graveyard with the inches of life decaying right under its feet

i picked up the phone so easily

the only words i could bear to scramble together,

“you left so easily. you didn’t even say goodbye.”

and when i die,

he will never

have the satisfaction of forgiveness

he will carry it around like a dead rose pricking at his fingers

he will bear the burden of my body, and carry my life under his feet

red will paint his hands

the way he painted my body

my grave

will be my bed

where my eyes can rest in the fury of my cries

and drown in the sorrows of his mistakes

he walked right over my body

and flowers died below his steps

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Danat Daniel

an aspiring rap artist who does poetry because im cool like that

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.