Poets logo

Unanswered Questions

Could you explain? Because what was natural has become a drain

By The Passionate AutisticPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Unanswered Questions
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

I try to catch up, but you're so hard to catch

I've been reaching for you butterfly, entangled in my net

Allow your wings to be still for a moment

Rest your toes upon a flower

No reason to remind me why I try to catch you

For I only have the lunch hour

My eyes hold still

Synapses fire at will

Time slows down

As a weird boy skips around

We were briefly together

My tongue the wick

A few flicks of it's tip

This conversation ignites

Sitting at the table

Our words quickly come to life

Cue to repeat

We're both dancing to the beat

A syncopation of our hearts

And when the time comes

Tell me darling, are you ready?

Pay attention, for the question

Will you?

Would you?

If I...

Could you?

“Yes

No

Maybe so

I don't know...

I don't know...

I don't know...”

Now we've been apart awhile

And I've explored your heart

Could you tell me if I belong in yours

And define exactly my part

Because I used to be able to catch you for at least a moment or two

The highlight of my days

I've switched places and the late nights have lost their lust

Without your grace

I'm left to a sailboat that's torn and tattered

The breeze blows to and fro

But with nothing to move us we've no place to go

I perceived the bad and forgot the good

Thinking I had sauce upon my face

I was really the most gorgeous thing she'd seen that day

We've weathered worse storms so press on

Hoping you'll find the courage to answer that question

Seriously or simply in jest

On the other timelines would this have all made sense?

I'm a shy guy, but perhaps the right guy

Wanting more than one night stands

My silence spoke volumes

While my screams went unheard

I tried sharing something without speaking in words

Language betrayed as translation failed

Except you're no longer alone at night

And are able to sleep

I'm unbearably uncomfortable seeking refuge on top of sheets

I couldn't ask then

And I shouldn't ask now

But everything in between left me wondering anyhow

I have yet to decide between time and proximity

One will lead to the end of romanticism for me.

You had jumped overboard

Abandoning ship

I tried to remain captain staying fast with it

You were Eve out in ocean

I still couldn't risk that you'd drown

I threw another apple on the line

Knowing you'd want to take it

But would you have the guts to bite?

The Devil's in the distance

Yet the Devil's got my hand

The Devil shakes the hourglass while I drown lost in the sands

Indecision in a desolate place

You were close enough to touch

But not to taste

You dared take the apple so prepare for confession

It's about damn time you finally answered the question

Can you hear me loud and clear?

I'm dying to know

And living for the rest

Wondering if you listened at all

Did you catch what I missed?

A sequence of events that happened in series

And offered up nothing but creating conspiracies

But that's how she left me all alone

There was no lessons

Just unanswered questions

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

The Passionate Autistic

Let me take you on a journey of feelings

linktr.ee/passionateautistic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.