Poets logo

Unable to Send

Letter to my Father

By Pia BantonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Unable to Send
Photo by Jonah Withers on Unsplash

Dear Daddy,

I wish you hadn’t

lived by the sword

or left me with the

legacy of lying.

I want to know

why you went out

that day, driving

that dirt road

where you would

collide into fate

and the neighbor’s

front bumper. Did

you know, before

the bullet hit you

in the chest, that

it was the last drive

you would take? Or

were you surprised

at how swift

mortality came

screaming down

on you - time harpy,

all black wings

and forgetting.

It was August. Hot.

Bees droned under

an unflinching sun.

It’s seen plenty

of violence in its

light. Your body

slumped in the truck

nothing remarkable

to the cosmos.

Tell me your last

thoughts that had

nothing to do

with me, or regret,

or anything at all

to help me wash

this down. Tell me

again how you’re

never going to die.

Sincerely,

your daughter

who was not

a son.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Pia Banton

Poetry, occasional fiction. But always the poems. Over caffeinated, up all night.

Visit me on Instagram @piabantonpoetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.