Poets logo

[UN].ZIP

hacking the human computer

By Nicholle MichellePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
[UN].ZIP
Photo by Tomas Sobek on Unsplash

I am a ZIP file
Of compressed trauma
If you open me
I’m full of drama
There’s a file for anger, sadness, and pain
There are even some which store my shame
There may be images
Too hard to see
Of the vile things done to me
Flashbacks stuck in flash drives
These memories
The story of my life
Compromised data
Corrupted files
Encoded in my DNA
Of lost virtue and trials
Is all I thought there was to me
So I buried the folder
In my hard drive
So deeply encrypted
I could barely thrive
I hid it well
Just to stay alive
I'm fine I'd say
As I winced and lied
And I was shitty
To escape your pity
So I left it there
Just collecting dust
Until fixing it was a must
I learned how to hack
I taught myself to code
Fear is based in lack
Life rewards the bold
Is the programming
To replace the old
Add a new motherboard
and some fresh downloads
That help me understand
The human code
That I am pure love
And I have nothing
To be afraid of
I can make mistakes
Without damnation
I can breathe my way
Through frustration
There's no stopping me
No limitations
These old files were never me
Just assimilations
Of a novice that was unaware
Of just how much she could bear
Now this file full of flaws
Sees that she is full of awe
That the damage done can be repaired
With some rewiring performed with care
Don't count yourself out
Because of clumsy technicians
That programmed you wrong
Despite their intentions
Because you're more
Than what's stored
in your memory
You're the entire computer
The whole damn thing
So when you feel you start to lag
Take a moment to defrag
Don't be afraid to control+alt+delete
To find yourself some inner peace

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.