Poets logo

Masquerade

now you're just somebody that I used to know

By Nicholle MichellePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Masquerade
Photo by Llanydd Lloyd on Unsplash


I cling to the ones I feel are real
Sometimes they change
Becoming estranged
Losing their friendship appeal
They become characterized
By a fractured cloak of lies
Making it uncertain whom you see
Wearing the mask of tragedy
Distortion is easier to swallow
When the actuality feels so hollow
But I am not so easily convinced
By such a bold faced defense
My eye for detail is a blessing and a curse
I pick through lies so well rehearsed
They might fool the Pope, but they don't fool me
I see the bigger picture; inevitable reality
I wish that I were wrong, and you right all along
Everytime I tune in, it's the same worn out song
A broken record doesn't get better with play
Yet you refuse to throw it away
Promises of change but none to be seen
Outside looking in, it's a toxic scene
My heart aches for you, my dearest friend
I watch helplessly while you pretend
That all is well and all is fine
As you decide to blur the line
between what is true and what are lies
The person I knew slowly dies
I'm removing myself, I'm full of doubt
This is your challenge to figure out
my guidance only falls on deaf ears
As the ones you fight for play out my worst fears
I just want genuine happiness for you
A healthy, balanced existence too
I hope that you're just simply lost,
Cause every choice comes with a cost
Established relationships begin to fade
There is no winning this game of charades
I've come to your aid time and again
I no longer know how to be your friend
I've cautioned till my face turns blue
My last words of advice: To thine own self be true

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.