Poets logo

UnWanted

The ties that bind are broken

By Orion OgmaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
taken from https://www.arkofgreatness.org/2019/06/breaking-chains-of-destiny-limitation.html

Never wanted to admit it

Living house to house,

Every week a new family

But the same.

Tears that stopped flowing

Needed to stay strong.

Surviving for my siblings

each day, fearing and hoping.

The end of everything,

I might not need to be strong anymore

Self fortifications building

refusing anyone to be let in.

Crushing under unbearable weight,

the weight of the keep,

the keep you forced me to build.

Your job was to protect and nurture us

Instead, shipping us far,

you washed your hands,

but as with Pilate,

you sent us knowingly to our fate.

A fate for each of us that repeated,

each broke in ways that few could imagine.

Even fewer would devastate a child so,

I became what I needed to survive.

Protecting Custis and Lovell

thinking you did not want us or care,

full of fear of the night that darkness would bring.

Cast in the part of the sacrificial lamb,

for their safety.

Let them do all they put you through

knowingly sent us, lambs to the slaughter.

Sent us to be violated in ways,

no child should even think of,

little alone have to experience.

A parent’s duty is to protect their children,

not sell their flesh, that life may be comfortable,

or shipped from place to place.

Never to find security,

Never to find Home.

Home, a hollow promise of welcoming,

a hearth that would defend and protect,

as I rested from all the world,

a hearth that feeds and warms.

This you denied me!

This you've cursed me with,

A never-ending fight, never to know peace.

But today I am done, I say

Your sins are yours.

I will carry your chains,

No more.

No more will you bind me

Or raze my dreams and talents!

You were tasked to take and

make dim embers into blazing fires.

By

Orion Ogma

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Orion Ogma

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.