Poets logo

Umami Crackers

A poem about delicious, savory taste

By Alison McBainPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Snacktime Sonata Challenge
8
Umami Crackers
Photo by Gregoire Jeanneau on Unsplash

A special, sticky treat from

the Japanese market

where my family shopped every Sunday:

mixed, crisp crackers painted

with brown sugar and soy sauce,

dispensed in bags and boxes

covered in hiragana characters

that only my grandparents could read.

***

Pungent, wasabi-colored

balls the size of gumdrops

that crunched between my teeth

and cleared my nostrils

(good to eat when sick).

Round, brown senbei

that took two bites

or puffed out my cheeks

if I put several in my mouth.

And the ultimate favorite:

seaweed-covered sticks

the size of a finger joint

called nori maki arare

that were both salty and sweet.

***

I’d hold each cracker on my tongue

to let the salt and sugar percolate

but then crunch down before sogginess:

an absolute treat to be enjoyed sparingly.

The crackers were expensive

and put out when company visited—

kids only got a handful each.

***

Translated to English,

umami means:

delicious, savory taste.

Americans call it

monosodium glutamate.

But where is the poetry in that?

Family
8

About the Creator

Alison McBain

Alison McBain writes fiction & poetry, edits & reviews books, and pens a webcomic called “Toddler Times.” In her free time, she drinks gallons of coffee & pretends to be a pool shark at her local pub. More: http://www.alisonmcbain.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 4 days ago

    My mouth is watering. Loved this poem!

  • Joe O’Connor9 days ago

    Loved the last stanza Alison! You blend nostalgia with vivid imagery, particularly in “I’d hold each cracker on my tongue to let the salt and sugar percolate but then crunch down before sogginess”, and make these crackers come alive!

  • Christy Munson22 days ago

    Where is the poetry in the American version, indeed! I've had the crackers and they're not my drink, so to speak, but I loved how you described them. I could taste the happiness coming off the page. Congratulations on your placement in the challenge!

  • Lamar Wiggins22 days ago

    Congratulations, Alison! I REALLY want to try these crackers!

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    Beautiful poem, full of great imagery and nostalgic memories! The last few lines had a great comedic punch! Wonderful, Alison!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.