Poets logo

Ulladulla

A reflection on land-rights and family holidays...

By Alyssia BalbiPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Ulladulla
Photo by Hudson "ziroAU" on Unsplash

I was fond of the way that the name

tumbled off my tongue, Ull-a-dulla…

The perfect holiday place,

a safe harbour, in a safe country.

In the boughs of squiggly gums that grew

where Budawang people had once walked on soft grass,

my brothers would laze and listen to my father,

who would sun-bake on the jetty and tell stories

about life before them.

And the family dog would turn into a savage.

Her senses overflowing with the thick stench,

of bones miles underneath the sand,

too deep to reach us.

And my mother and I would swim,

the beach sand was always white.

Like the soft underbelly of a fresh caught bream,

stretched out next to the waters edge, gutted and bleeding.

I imagine now, a tall Indigenous man standing on the jetty,

of the family holiday home.

And with open arms, he begins to laugh at me,

Safe harbour. Safe country.

performance poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetrynature poetrylove poemsheartbreakart
Like

About the Creator

Alyssia Balbi

Hey, I am Australian and I am around 22 years old...I love to write, on my deck, with a cup of tea...this is just my being really, I am sure you will not judge. Thank you for coming here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.