Poets logo

Anatomy

A micro-story for the feminist movement.

By Alyssia BalbiPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Anatomy
Photo by Joyce McCown on Unsplash

You see, in school they taught anatomy with a male model. Breasts were on occasion mentioned but never permitted to be seen, at risk of damaging fresh-teen eyes. Fearful of the risk of over-exposing young brains to what even they, in their infancy relied on for life, the breast was often given just a dry description.

‘A glandular milk-producing dual-organ located on the chest.’

The drooling speech of the tweed-suited teacher was promptly suffocated by the sniggers that rippled from boy to boy. In the same way that pre-historic fish grew legs, there grew the roots of what was to come; teen-hood, adulthood, manhood…an ever evolving complex powered by the notorious perfumes of the night. The missionaries of apocalyptic sex…

From then, I could taste the snake,…its tail was in my mouth…if you know what I mean.

As the ripple died down, and the teacher moved on to glorifying the function of the penis in the miracle of reproduction, my body shed a layer of skin, I could feel it run down my legs and settle on the classroom floor.

Let us not recount the trauma that ensued when the tweed-teacher’s pointer reached the vulva .

fact or fictionsad poetryslam poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

Alyssia Balbi

Hey, I am Australian and I am around 22 years old...I love to write, on my deck, with a cup of tea...this is just my being really, I am sure you will not judge. Thank you for coming here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.