Poets logo

There is a Dream, Amsterdam

A small place of comfort,

By Alyssia BalbiPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

There is a dream, where I am living in Amsterdam

I often seek it out for comfort, a feeling always chased,

When watching the news or,

Like clockwork, when a bicycle bell would ring,

I am there, on The Lindengracht, in green scarf and a red shoe.

The canals bustle, long-boats carry weary eye’d foreigners and bright, bubbling children,

After a full day of writing and sitting at cafés in the cold sunlight,

I pull my body back into my skin,

Surrounded by music, and laughter, and the ebbing darkness,

I am whistling to the moon,

Daring it to come down and dance with me,

And together dip into the sudden, bustling evening.

This was my imagining of a happier, quieter life

A comfort that I often overrun with fleeting hopes of reality.

artheartbreakinspirationallove poemsnature poetryperformance poetrysad poetrysocial commentarysurreal poetryvintage
Like

About the Creator

Alyssia Balbi

Hey, I am Australian and I am around 22 years old...I love to write, on my deck, with a cup of tea...this is just my being really, I am sure you will not judge. Thank you for coming here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.