Poets logo

Ugly Things

A poem

By Sara WilsonPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
14

I see what's distorted, twisted, absurd.

I see the odd, the strange, the perturbed.

I see the deranged, the scoffed, the annoyed.

The imperfect beauty, the unusual, the destroyed.

I hear the spiders, the bats, bones, and crows.

They sing a song no one ever knows.

Abandoned houses and times of old.

I hear the stories no one ever told.

I taste all the flavors that some never can.

I create the recipes you can't understand.

I taste all the herbs, the spices, the shells.

I taste lots of other things as well.

Messy scrap books, all torn apart.

Really bad jokes and abstract art.

Crazy makeup and messy hair,

I touch all the things some never would dare.

Ugly things have claws and wings,

and ugly things have tears and dings.

Ugly things have scents that sting.

I just love silly ugly things.

I love ugly things. They tend to love me.

Can you feel it? Taste it? How I wish you could see.

If you're brave enough to open your mind,

the beauty in ugly is not hard to find.

surreal poetry
14

About the Creator

Sara Wilson

Lover of the strange and unusual. I write mostly horror or true crime. I occasionally publish other things, but try not to write only for the sake of having content. Feedback is always welcome and appreciated!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    This was so uplifting, and different from the poetry I tend to find on Vocal! Thank you for redirecting our eyes to the overlooked, the judged, the ugly. What a lovely perspective to showcase. I very much enjoyed this read, Sara.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    I will never forget this one. I shared it on the vocal creator chat a couple months ago to try and boost it to Top Story. I’m so glad Paul highlighted it. I stand by my original comment. It truly is epic!

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    Whaaaaaat!? This is so cool, Sara!! I love everything about it — the vibe, the topic, the rhymes, the chaos!! 👏👏👏❤️

  • Should I say this is beautiful or rather quite ugly? No matter, I love it.

  • Oh, wow. This is fantastic, Sara. There is such beauty in "ugly". I love the concept, and you laid it out brilliantly! Well done!

  • Beautifully written 😍🥰🎉💜

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    I've read this one before, and enjoyed reading it again when Paul highlighted it. Truly a marvelous poem!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Fabulous poem. There's beauty to be found in everything, even the ugly things.

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    This is excellent stuff. You are definitely a poet. Loved it and you have a new subscriber.

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    This is exceptional, Sara. I'm now subscribed!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Powerful! Well done, Sara!

  • Misty Rae11 months ago

    Impressive!

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Oh wow, that was stunning, Sara. I loved the flow and your word choices. And those last two lines...yes :) I've just subscribed!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Wow! That was pretty damn epic! Definitely hearted and subscribed. 👏👏👏

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Oh, I love this. :) There is beauty in everything. So descriptive and well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.