Poets logo

Two Short Stories

Humour with Reflection

By Rosamond EarnshawPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
Like

Short Story One:

"Life is truly boring," I heard the words and surprisedly emerged from the garbage heap to see who was speaking.

"If only I were a beggar," said the daughter of a wealthy merchant, sitting crookedly on the stone bench in front of the door. I rolled around, nearly bursting into laughter. But this young lady indeed had a melancholic demeanour, and her fair ankles fascinated me.

"What's wrong with being a beggar? I dare say a beggar's heart is not much different from that of the rich. They elicit sympathy as well."

Unconsciously, I was drawn closer. A servant walked out of the house and stood there respectfully.

"Miss, the lady wants you to come over."

"I know!" she impatiently waved her hand, lost in her thoughts. The servant waited by her side, occasionally toying with the bell on the door handle.

"She has such a good heart," I thought. At that moment, the scent of cooked sausages wafted from inside the house, making my stomach growl.

"Perhaps I can beg her for some alms." With great respect, I rushed towards her ankles.

She glanced at me and suddenly screamed, "Rat—kill it quickly!"

The servant's enormous boot came crashing down, and I plunged into the bottomless darkness.

Short Story Two:

I was pushed onto a ship by the crowd, without bringing anything. However, travelling on the water was so tedious that I soon couldn't bear the loneliness and wanted to find something to do.

Lord! It was really boring. There wasn't a single person on this ship I could strike up a conversation with. But I didn't give up.

I thought that with my beauty and enchanting voice, at least I could capture the attention of most people.

I started to sing, but no one paid any attention. The cabin was bustling, and everyone was busy with their own affairs.

"What are you all busy with?" I shouted, but there was no response. So, I almost lost my voice shouting.

"I want to see the captain!" Unexpectedly, the crowd suddenly made way, and I easily met him.

"What is this trip for, after all?" I asked angrily. "This is the ship of passage," the captain, who appeared quite old, replied.

"Pardon?"I patiently asked again.

"The ship of passage. If you want to reach the other shore, you must board this ship."

"And what is the other shore?" He looked up at me as if savouring the question, "The realm of death."

humor
Like

About the Creator

Rosamond Earnshaw

I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhäuser Gate. All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.