Poets logo

Two People: Coffee

A series I might start about two people.

By Léa Smith Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
old-fashioned floral bedspread and endless green forest tress.

the sky moved from black to blue,

my mouth lifted to a smile

as my eyes catch the view out the window

of endless green forest trees.

my hand drags

across the old-fashioned floral bedspread

as I stretch out my legs

and make a meager morning groan.

observing the other side of the bed

is now empty

I hear topples and clinks

coming from the mezzanine level beneath,

an innocuous, “dammit!” is whispered under his breath.

and soon after,

a strong drift of coffee fills the air

and I inhale so deeply that every inch of my being fills with a surge of warmth

Like sun stinging your skin on a Summer’s day.

a trickle of liquid hits the ceramic mug

and while I watch the raindrops seep down the window

he walks up the stairs

hair falling on his face

completely naked apart from two odd

coloured socks,

“I made you coffee”

delivered with a bright beaming soul,

and a kiss on my forehead.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Léa Smith

Trying to be a storyteller.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Tony Galbier2 years ago

    Yeah, this sings to my soul!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.