Poets logo

Two hands

by Michèle Nardelli

By Michèle NardelliPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
30
Two hands
Photo by Sdf Rahbar on Unsplash

You’re standing there and glowing green,

and I want to show you everything.

To take your hand and lead you round,

To see my house, my stomping ground.

But when I reach to hold your hand

you just don’t seem to understand,

to make contact palm to palm,

is friendship, not impending harm.

And so, before the wonderous things,

I need to show you what this means.

Unfold my fingers and gently touch,

before we start that stronger clutch.

I point to smiles and eyes and heart,

and speak so softly to impart,

that holding hands is just a thing

that people do to bring you in.

Your eyes blink once and twice again

and as my fingers nestle in

I pull you gently, to my side

and then imply a matching stride.

Your hand, it flutters just a little

but it's so warm as it settles.

And in the moment where our eyes meet,

I realise it is complete.

That of all the scintillating things,

the dogs and bugs and birds with wings,

the many wonders end to end,

I’ve shown you how to be a friend.

childrens poetry
30

About the Creator

Michèle Nardelli

I write...I suppose, because I always have. Once a journalist, then a PR writer, for the first time I am dabbling in the creative. Now at semi-retirement I am still deciding what might be next.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 6 months ago

    Wow, that was so nice!! Bravo!

  • Carol Townend7 months ago

    That was very warming, and showed a good token of love and friendship.

  • Alexis Dean Jr.7 months ago

    Wow 👏🏾

  • Darkos7 months ago

    Wonderful ! I love it so full of love ! Congratulation on Your Top story ! :)So Happy for You ! much Love !

  • Afiq Haikal7 months ago

    Can support my account

  • Test7 months ago

    Great work! Congratulations on Tops Story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.