Poets logo

Sock song

by Michèle Nardelli

By Michèle NardelliPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
First Place in Ode to Ordinary Challenge
56
Sock song
Photo by Alfred Rowe on Unsplash

I look at you and wonder,

how you came to be alone.

How one so warm and colourful

could curl up like a stone.

How underneath that tangle of sheets, and slips, and frocks,

a singular inconsequential lump,

was once a favourite pair of socks.

What happened in that swirling cycle

to wrench you from your mate?

What wicked tides and whirlpools

left you in this state?

Together you were powerful.

Ah, the mountains you would climb.

Your bond so close and comforting,

you always stepped in time.

So now I take you lovingly,

and stretch you out again.

I rummage through the baskets,

and search and search in vain.

The quest is long and arduous

but I know it’s worth the wait,

for a sock is just a bit of stuff,

until you find its mate.

humor
56

About the Creator

Michèle Nardelli

I write...I suppose, because I always have. Once a journalist, then a PR writer, for the first time I am dabbling in the creative. Now at semi-retirement I am still deciding what might be next.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (39)

Sign in to comment
  • Carol Townend7 months ago

    I like that, it's very catchy.

  • Carolmae Hinrichs8 months ago

    That was awesome! Love it. Thank you.

  • Trip L.8 months ago

    An obvious winner. Congratulations!

  • PK Colleran8 months ago

    Love it! I was searching for a beloved lost sock just yesterday!! Such a universal experience :) And a beautiful metaphor for finding love. Congratulations on a well-deserved win.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    I love this poem! I love socks! I love everything about this! Very great poem! Wonderful. Fantastic! Outrageously amazing! No wonder you won! This is genuinely outstanding! Write more please!

  • That so thoughtful poem Michele...I celebrate you

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Happy socks, lovely ode. Congrats and be warm in those socks.

  • Joe Luca8 months ago

    Very cool - a tale quite familiar to me! 😊 Congrats.

  • Ava Mack8 months ago

    Wonderful poem! Congrats on your win, Michele!

  • Lori Melton8 months ago

    This is so fun and spot on correct - congrats on your win! 😊

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Humorous indeed, yet also full of sorrow for the missing mate. Excellent balance, and your rhymes and meter are absolutely perfect. Truly, this is well done. Congratulations on your win!!

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Delightful poem, congrats on grand prize! 🍾

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Congratulations to first place! 🥹

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    This was delightful, loved this a lot. Congratulations on your first place win!

  • Natalie Wilkinson8 months ago

    A perfect characterization, congratulations !

  • Dean F. Hardy8 months ago

    Congrats Michele ☘

  • Teresa Renton8 months ago

    I loved this when I first read it 😍. Congratulations 🥳

  • Mary E Bradbury8 months ago

    A very clever read!

  • Your work was inspiring and more importantly, gave me an excellent example and reference for my future writing attempts in this genre. Congratulations and best of luck in your literary quests.

  • EYHCS8 months ago

    Nice - very well done!

  • Helen Seder8 months ago

    I so enjoyed reading this! It was both well written and still very hopeful and cute!

  • Raymond G. Taylor8 months ago

    Never thought a poem about a sock could be so moving. A worthy win, congratulations and well done. Don't spend all the money on having a good time. You have to waste some of it!

  • S. C. Almanzar8 months ago

    "What happened in that swirling cycle to wrench you from your mate?" The unending frustrating of losing socks to the dryer void! Just this morning I had to wear one grey sock and one yellow one as they lost their twins. I'm sure they'll somehow reappear in my dresser.

  • Congratulations on your Big Win 🏆 🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉👌📝😉❤️💯

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.