Poets logo

Twisted Sunflower

Between the Cracks

By Bex JordanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Several sunflowers of varying height and health

I’ve always survived

Between the cracks

Of others’ existence,

Comfortable in my discomfort;

Accommodating to a

Fault, I bend.

A twisted sunflower

In a field of

Bright yellow faces,

Under the shadow of my

Taller fellows

I take what I’m given,

Of light and life.

Support and maintain

Don’t complain

Refrain from making waves

In this sea of tranquility.

I don’t need much.

I can get by.

Maybe someday

I’ll reach and release,

Give myself room to grow

And bloom.

Not just survive,

But thrive.

For now, I cower in

My comfort.

Of not wanting to hurt.

Though I long to

Feel the sun.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Bex Jordan

She/They. Writer. Gardener. Cat-Lover. Nerd. Always looking up at the sky or down at the ground.

Profile photo by Román Anaya.

Instagram: @UmaSabirah

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alexis Creamer2 years ago

    "For now, I cower in my comfort." What a powerful line. The imagery and emotion in this piece are amazing and truly relatable. I love the comparison to the sunflower.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.