Poets logo

tweed vest and hunting hat

identity poem

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
6
Photo by Lance Reis on Unsplash

I once walked along Australian trellises and natives

where many nationalities merged into one evening song

sitting in a vast, overgrown garden

I pondered on the inevitability of growth

*

my parched and ripe lips yearned to learn

all the flimsy flavours found in a foreign, furrowed land

they became my mantra, my prayer, my recipe

how to live and what use to make of this new life that has been given to me

*

feeling as an Englishman must feel in New York

I became a European lost on English soil

who flew out of the nest once and upon return

was devoid of beginnings, but were they there in the first place?

*

I never thought about it until now, perhaps it’s a good time

to mention all fatty foods and holy offerings

it became blurry, it never meant so much

as pure existence based on the here and now

*

who is there to tell me what to think?

what or who should I believe in if it’s just me?

I can only put my life in my own hands

there is no one else who can rebuke my free will

*

in the meantime, I defeated all the vile sea creatures greedy to steal my personality

and after the melee I left them below two hundred feet

everyone felt sorry, the stupefied eyes showed more than the eyes of a martyr

(by the way, everyone wants us to be like that where I come from)

*

they couldn’t believe what they found under their too shallow skin

rotten seed scattered in a selfish field

and there I landed as light as a feather

no one can take that away from you once you settled

***

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

sad poetryvintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryinspirational
6

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.