Poets logo

Twas the night before Christmas

not your mama's Christmas

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
7
Twas the night before Christmas
Photo by Geert Pieters on Unsplash

Twas the night before Christmas stuck in a hospital room

I thought I d survived 2018, Thats why they say, don’t assume

A sick kid and failed marriage

the first Christmas without mom

Things couldn’t get worse, well guess what, I was wrong

Plans we made have been voided

Things are up in the air

Another night without sleeping sitting up in a chair

How to pay for all this, money doesn’t grow on trees

And the emptiness pushes me down to my knees

I lost true love, loved ones and I can’t find myself

Im so tired, sad and broken life sure has been hell

But I’m hopeful and praying things will turn out alright

I miss scott and mom too on this Christmas eve night

I have to believe things will be as they should-

no one promised things would always be good

But held and forgiven through the trials in life

Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night

heartbreak
7

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock8 months ago

    I'm sorry neither I nor anyone else could be there for you on that Christmas Eve not so very long ago. But I'm glad you were able to be there for someone else who needed you. As unhappy & unsettling as that night must have been as you endured it, I pray the memory of it will forever warm your heart & reassure you that you are that kind of person who cares for others.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.