Poets logo

Turtle Doves, what the?

Ridiculousness in poetic form.

By Paul StewartPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
10
Turtle Doves, what the?
Photo by Dmitry Smirnov on Unsplash

Turtle doves, ' the funk are turtle doves anyway?

I want to watch them, watch them dance and play

Bird of paradise, they seem nice, starlings too

Red cardinals, pretty but angry, at me, at you

Macaws and toucans, tokens of God's creativity

Stunning in design with a curious personality

Crows and vultures, often overlooked as ugly

Carrion eating, serving a purpose, majestically

Eagles soar high, penguins waddle down low

Sparrows, robins, all kinds of tits that flow

Birds of prey, hunting all day, pigeons play

Hummingbirds hover, seagulls complain all day

Partridges, not in pear trees, that's a lie

Peacocks, grandiose, but fight, don't even try

Then there's chickens, they taste good in my belly

Quail’s eggs are great as a starter before Beef Welly

No bird soars too high if he flies with his own wings

Listen to them, they sing because they have their songs

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: A ridiculous piece I wrote stream-of-consciousness style about realising that I didn't really know what turtle doves were...

You're, like, welcome! I mean, at least I bloody well rhymed!

Here are some other word murders.

surreal poetryStream of Consciousnessnature poetryinspirationalhumorFor Fun
10

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeatabout a month ago

    I LOVE this! So creative and fun! Also, just threw a 4th birthday party for my youngest and he chose a bird theme. We had birds everywhere. Oddly when you posted this we were having the party!!! Such a crazy coincidence! Thanks for the smiles! 🦅

  • The full expression of an ornithologist's wet dream!

  • Grz Colmabout a month ago

    Bahahaha! I loved the nuttiness of this piece. Very humorous. “Partridges, not in pear trees, that's a lie”!! 😆

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    This is such fun! I love it when you make me giggle, Paul! I loved the picture of the turtles, especially the ironic juxtaposition with the avian subject matter!

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    Well-wrought! I love encountering groups of turtles on my walks too, so the picture gave me an extra tickle! "See the turtle of enormous girth On his shell he holds the earth."

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    I love birds, am a bird watcher. Good job, Paul! I guess your photo is a pun on the Turtle Doves. I see Angie gave you a link, LOL.

  • Hey… you just go easy on those defenceless Turtle Doves!🤣 Dictionary.com asserts they are: ‘ any of several Old World doves of the genus Streptopelia, having a brown plumage with speckled wings and a long dark tail. a gentle or loving person.” I regularly call my kids Turtle Dove!!🥹😳🙃… end of discussion!😵‍💫 I of course, did enjoy the rhythm and rhyme & celebration of many birds and their personalities… great job!✅

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    It's just turtles, all the way down. I do love a beef willy!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.