Poets logo

Turning

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
Turning
Photo by Matt Artz on Unsplash

Throwing the log on the wheel

I grab my chisel as it begins to spin

Who will win

The day will have to wait and see

Will it be this block

Time

Or me

Something raw and new

With so many parts

It needs to be edited down

To something more refined

Something beautiful

That one can enjoy when it’s time to unwind

Writing and writing

Edit after edit

Trying not to forget it

Carving the best story is not the first draft

It’s the smoothed out final you have left

After all the chaff is gone

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toHolidayheartbreakFilthyfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Magnificent and smooth!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Excellent analogy. Craftily written!!!

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    I can see the similarities between writing and wood working. Enjoyed your poem.

  • Great poem, insightful about craft working differences. ❤️ It.

  • Unless it's my wife's. Her first drafts are better than my 37th.

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    It's a great poem and great analogy.

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    What a superb analogy.

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    This picture reminds me of my father, a carpenter, he used to chisel away when we could pin him down in one spot long enough. Ah them days. Nostalgic stories. Smoothly chisel away.

Atomic HistorianWritten by Atomic Historian

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.