Poets logo

Turn the Day Around

Live in the moment

By Colleen Millsteed Published 10 months ago β€’ 2 min read
6
Photo courtesy of the Author

The pristine blue of a glorious winter day,

The wind whistling through the green leaves of the trees,

The birds singing in a chorus of melodies,

Heartens the beating of my heart echoing on the breeze.

😒

The throbbing of a helicopter flying overhead,

Battling the air waves propelling it forward,

Disturbing the peace of a quiet neighbourhood,

Disturbing my solitude, untoward.

😒

The morning wakens me, much to my displeasure,

Desperate for a break from destiny,

A quietude my wish for this day,

Uninterrupted, time out needed desperately.

😒

My plans for today have not come to fruition,

Sorrow returns unbidden,

My emotions a train wreck over the disbelief,

A face I cannot show the world unhidden.

😒

Silence feels so lonely,

The outside world faded into obscurity,

Wrapped in a bubble,

For my protection, my security.

😒

But wait!

My day can be all I need,

Turn the music on,

Turn it up loud, let it bleed.

😊

Dance my way into clarity,

Feel the smile suddenly gracing my face,

This is my world, my safe haven,

My home, my special place.

😊

The pristine blue sky and windy breeze,

Now the rhythm of my heartbeat,

The silence is precious, no longer lonely,

As if I’m the only soul upon my street.

😊

Thankful for the life that runs through my veins,

Giving me today with no promise of tomorrow,

Living in the moment, breathing in the tunes,

Now there’s no room left for sorrow.

😊

Time out, self-love, pleasure,

A warm bath on a winter day,

Singing to my favourite songs,

Knowing all will be well, it’ll all work out okay.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Image courtesy of the Author

Originally published on Medium

inspirational
6

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry β€” it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves β€” I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock10 months ago

    That need for quiet respite....

  • I'm so happy you were able to turn your day around my friend. Lots of love for you πŸ’–

  • Joe Patterson10 months ago

    Very well written, love how in-depth with detail this is.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.