Poets logo

Tumblr

Poem I wrote for my creative writing final

By Che'la McClainPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

And today born;

bare

untroubled few seconds,

unconventional,

unembarrassed

angst is best friend

after.

Society –

only hidden

body beautiful.

Only man;

pleasure his

stop being

uncovered body

acceptable

dignifying

redemption

(how?)

For the sake of

self.

This . is. NOT.

How you revolution.

Instead

become whore;

attention

whole

sanctuary un pure.

I plucked nudes

out of my favorites’ folder

in my iPhone.

Samurai their only audience –

months of “ should I post them?”

Months of

“but I want to.”

Is it bad

vulnerability

is probably what appealed to me most?

I am always courageous

BECAUSE of fear

and doubt;

they are my adrenaline shots.

No spiteful man tried me on for size

but, still I worry

cause today I was born

my way for the first time;

I be forsaker.

I bore chains so long;

they still shake

when I move

and I don’t want

religion

and misogyny

catching rides on them

while

anxiety denies freedom;

cause she doesn’t know what comes

with it.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Che'la McClain

First time mommy with a creative side. I’ve been writing poetry for almost 15 years, I model, and I have an interest in photography. My goal is to be an entrepreneur who’s main source of income comes from her business.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.