Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Trust

A truama poem

By Tressa RosePublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 2 min read
8
Trust
Photo by Rayson Tan on Unsplash

Time

It's a funny thing.

~~~

It felt like yesterday

I was a little girl

Mostly carefree

Yes, I said mostly.

~~~

Burdened with unfair weight

Inflicted with unjust trauma

Trust broken through both parents

Absence of safety in all forms.

~~~

I swore I would never be like you

Pills and alcohol

Random men

To bring you gifts.

For a price,

Of course.

~~~

So how did I find myself in this man's car?

I'd been in many before

But this one was different.

I felt a bad vibe

Tried to get out

That's when he proudly brandished his gun

And pointed it my way.

~~~

"You aren't going anywhere."

Those were his words

I've never felt so scared.

Sure death was coming to me

And if I'm being honest,

A part of me wished I died that night.

~~~

You didn't kill me though

You knew I wouldn't say anything

Since drugs were involved.

You were so sure in fact,

That you took me to your house

To commit the voilence.

~~~

Later you dropped me off in the middle of nowhere

And laughed in my face,

Calling me a 'stupid bitch'

When I asked if you could at least give me money for a ride home.

~~~

It wasn't the drugs that kept me quiet though,

It was the shame.

What would I say?

I mean,

I chose to climb in that car.

But I wasn't your first victim,

Was I?

~~~

So many stories like mine

Damaged daughters

Losing their way.

Many of us don't make it out alive

I was a lucky one,

Or at least,

That's what I tell myself.

~~~

Are you lucky?

To be called a survivor of something like that?

I think so,

As long as I choose to move forward

And not let it define who I am,

I think I'll be ok.

~~~

But It has been years now

And although you don't define me

You still haunt me.

Because I drive by your street on almost a daily basis.

If I ran into you

I doubt you'd recognize me

But me,

I'll never forget you.

sad poetryCONTENT WARNING
8

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Kenny Penn6 months ago

    I really loved this, Tressa. I feel like every word expressed here was a step toward taking that power back from this scumbag. As someone who has suffered abuse of a different kind, I found your words inspiring and healing. Thank you for sharing

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    This was a suckerpunch and a half. I am sorry you had this experience. I am full of admiration because you are able to write about it...express it...take power away from him. Well done.

  • Oh my goodness! I'm so sorry this happened to you! Sending you lots of love and hugs 🥺❤️

  • Test6 months ago

    Your strength and resilience shine through your words

  • Jay Kantor6 months ago

    Dear Tressa - I know I'm way out of your popular demographics. But, as a scroll through all of your gorgeous offerings I feel you so much. I've had clients that have gone through episodes such as you have and I've worked with them Pro Bono since it makes me so sad. They say certain Professionals are numb to all issues such as with your ex-husband...I never-ever was. Please do me a favor: I want to share a 'Survior' story with you: "Victims Too." Please don't be alarmed. I know you will handle it with understanding care. But, at one time or another, Dahhhlink, we were all 'Victims-Too. In Jewish that's called a "Shonda"...a Shame! Your virtual, Bud - who likes your 'Hair' - certainly nothing ulterior! Jay in L.A. btw; please see the current pic of me under 'Wheelchair' Etiquette.' I have T-Shirts older than 34ish

  • SO SAD. IT DOES HAPPEN. SAD GREAT STORY

  • Natasha Collazo6 months ago

    This choked me up. I’m speechless. God bless you sweet sister. I’d love to read more! Subscribing. ❤️

  • Raihana H.6 months ago

    Nicely written. I'm sorry about what happened but I admire your courage, strength to move forward and for sharing your story! :) all the best and wish you the best!! Keep writing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.