Poets logo

Truly Colorful

What colors are true to you?

By Samantha BrinkerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Truly Colorful
Photo by Sylvanus Urban on Unsplash

When we were young,

we were taught by you

that the pairing colors must be

red and blue.

Two people,

their colors red and blue,

in a partnership that is deemed

standard and true.

Dare I drift from the norm,

in love with the color green...

or lilac... or yellow...

or anyone delightful to me.

For being in love

wasn't about love at all.

Instead, it was about

fitting into a bubble and putting up a wall.

I tried being normal

but I wasn't staying true to who I am,

and everyone was happy for me

when I had only been following a plan.

Well, we aren't young anymore

and we are replacing you,

so let us decide what colors

are standard and true.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Brinker

vegetarian~taurus~creative writer~bisexual~psyche~wiccan~music lover

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.