Poets logo

True You

True Me

By Jaclyn Gilbert Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
True You
Photo by Taelynn Christopher on Unsplash

I almost stopped by to say hello, but then I remembered when we locked eyes my bones turn to jello

I almost left you a present, but how could I, when you won't give me time?

A bucket of brushes for when you feel life is moving too fast and you are in need of slow movements letting your creativity flow freely at last.

New bottles of paint with which you would have enough to color the world you wish to create..

Lastly a few canvases for when you need an escape.

I paid for them, then walked to my car wondering why these emotions are still hitting me so hard.. Especially since the last time I saw you seems so far.

I opened the door, sat in my seat, then asked myself, "What would happen this time, would the pattern repeat?"

Or could we allow ourselves to truly meet where the masks have fallen off, where the true me can go to you and with a smile, greet?

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.