Poets logo

True Colours

My struggles with emotional and mental health

By Jennifer LoreePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
"Iceberg" - Acrylic on Canvas by Jennifer Loree

Too long I have spent trying to keep my colours separate.

Everything in perfect order.

A limited palette, muted for public display, an acceptable parody of matching hues.

Daily my Soul is tethered by the fear of rejection, it cannot take flight.

“Your colours clash, they are too messy, too loud, too bright. You are not harmonious with our theory. An outsider.”

Once said by others, now playing in the back of my mind, a driving rhythm.

Darkness comes, a growing storm.

My colours seem to fade. They cannot shine without the light.

Furious fate throws my cautious palette to the wind. Colours everywhere, the curated image destroyed.

Picking up the pieces I begin to see the beauty in the chaos. The full spectrum of my vibrant Soul, waiting to be seen.

I take the first step, the light slowly seeps in.

Silence.

The haunted echos quieted from my mind.

The canvas waits.

art
2

About the Creator

Jennifer Loree

Canadian digital artist, Certified Nutritional Counselor (CNC), Nature Lover

"To air out ones thoughts; words drifting on a light breeze; wind also breaks trees." (Haiku)

Instagram: @jennifer.loree

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.