Poets logo

True Colors

The first draft of a poem from May 2021.

By Jaci SchreckengostPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
True Colors
Photo by ian dooley on Unsplash

True Colors

I’ve been told I’m

bright yellow — just a

little too much; I’ve

heard I’m someone who

needs to be toned down.

My creativity is emerald

green — a color that

fits me perfectly. I

tried to ignore it

for far too long.

Thankfully, it waited patiently.

My anxiety is dark

gray or blinding white.

She has nothing in

between, and occasionally I

don’t either.

Love, now, is deep

purple. It is warm,

comforting, honest, everything I

began to think didn’t

really exist. It does.

My honesty is a

crimson red that makes

you ask questions. Some

say it’s too bright.

My colors are not

for everyone, but I

will never dilute them.

____________________________________________________

Some notes before you go:

Since I slacked on National Poetry Month, I've been trying to work those prompts (and new ones like this one) into my routine. I wrote this piece for the Color is Pride: True Colors Vocal+ Challenge, and I had a fun time writing it. This is an incredibly early draft, but I am excited to continue working on it. I hope you enjoyed!

____________________________________________________

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, I recommend checking out another piece I wrote called Lights in Seattle.

Connect with me on Instagram @JaciSchreckengost.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jaci Schreckengost

Hey there, I'm Jaci Schreckengost.

Here are some pieces of my writing. They're all drafts; some on revision one, some on revision ninety.

You can see more of my work at jacischreckengost.com. I'm also on Instagram @JaciSchreckengost.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.