Poets logo

True Beauty (2)

A reflection on life's purest beauty.

By Oliver JohnsonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
True Beauty (2)
Photo by Norbert Kundrak on Unsplash

I’ve often looked to find the the greatest beauty life has to offer

It’s like my mind thinks that by finding this myth it’ll be healed

So I searched and searched and searched

Until I found it, or so I think

I finally was able to be level with myself

And for that split second it was golden

Like the combination of every beautiful crashing waterfall

The perfect warmth of watching an orange sunset with those you love

It makes everything you’ve ever felt fall to the background and pale in comparison

And then just as quick as it came it’s gone

Stripped from you quicker than a diamond loses its luster in mud

When you lose it you realize how much you needed it

Not just then, but always

You begin to understand what the most beautiful thing is

It's not a view or a stone or the night sky

It is dedication

That true, total, and powerful dedication between to things

Whether in love, hate, or anything in between

Like two blackholes circling closer and closer until they collide

Only they never collide

They simply graze each other before launching back out into the distance

Never to cross each other's paths again

True beauty, my friend, is not found in sights or sounds or smells

True beauty is found in the complete devotion between two people

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Oliver Johnson

I hope you enjoy some of my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.