Poets logo

Our Books (3)

A message for nobody, may it reach them when they need it.

By Oliver JohnsonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Our Books (3)
Photo by Edward Paterson on Unsplash

I hope that someday you look back on us

Not in sorrow, but in happiness

I know I will

All of the words and touches and feelings exchanged

Please never look back on us with pain

I’ve shed enough tears for the both of us

And I’d like to think that if we never speak again

You’ll at least have taken a fond memory along with you

A little bit to remember this short but sweet chapter

The chapter where our books came together to pen each other's

It scares me to know that someday we’ll forget

To be honest I never want to forget what we had, for my sake at least

But no matter how hard I try it’ll still happen someday

Someday you’ll fade from me and I’ll fade from you

Those tiny chapters in each other's books

They’ll become so weathered you can’t read them anymore

And it scares me, you know.

To think that soon enough we’ll both have others writing in our books

Doing for us what we so wished the other would

Maybe someday we’ll each have a writer stay for a long time

And then they’ll write so much they won’t leave

But until then I hope you read our chapter, just as I do from time to time

And I hope it makes you as warm as it makes me

That little chapter that showed me I don’t need to keep my book to just myself.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Oliver Johnson

I hope you enjoy some of my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.