Poets logo

Trimming Trees

A poem about letting go

By Kyandra MayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Trimming Trees
Photo by Michael Held on Unsplash

I'm giving all I have

Please, take a little more

I have nothing left to give

But you'll find something I'm sure

I'm the very best you say

A title you bestowed

But if I'm being honest

It's one I do not wish to hold

It's too heavy, I can't bear it

Being crushed underneath your greed

All I wanted was to love you

You love me when I bleed

I try to tell you where it hurts

You look at me and say

"It is what it is"

And "Everything's okay"

But as a band-aid

does nothing for the pain

A smile doesn't cover up

You to pass the blame

You never play the victim

Though you're a master of the game

Queen of manipulation

But that's not you, no way

I'm giving all I have

Please, take what you need

But you need more than I

You're impossible to please

Even as I spell it out

So clear, concise, direct

My words fall flat or ricochet

They bear no meaning or

I cannot pinpoint what hurts more

The truth you tried to hide

All you think of me

Your clever little lies

Or the fact that when I'm being honest

Wounds exposed and raw

You add the salt and feed the flames

As though you never cared at all

But if I look close enough

I can see what hurts above all else

Is the pain that's holding onto you

And crippling yourself

My mistake was not in loving you

But in hoping you could see

The I see in you

you wish you'd be

It hurts so much to learn this now

But I know for us to grow

I must move on without you

I have to let you goI'm giving all I have

Please, take a little more

I have nothing left to give

But you'll find something I'm sure

I'm the very best you say

A title you bestowed

But if I'm being honest

It's one I do not wish to hold

It's too heavy, I can't bear it

Being crushed underneath your greed

All I wanted was to love you

You love me when I bleed

I try to tell you where it hurts

You look at me and say

"It is what it is"

And "Everything's okay"

But as a band-aid

does nothing for the pain

A smile doesn't cover up

You to pass the blame

You never play the victim

Though you're a master of the game

Queen of manipulation

But that's not you, no way

I'm giving all I have

Please, take what you need

But you need more than I

You're impossible to please

Even as I spell it out

So clear, concise, direct

My words fall flat or ricochet

They bear no meaning or

I cannot pinpoint what hurts more

The truth you tried to hide

All you think of me

Your clever little lies

Or the fact that when I'm being honest

Wounds exposed and raw

You add the salt and feed the flames

As though you never cared at all

But if I look close enough

I can see what hurts above all else

Is the pain that's holding onto you

And crippling yourself

My mistake was not in loving you

But in hoping you could see

The I see in you

you wish you'd be

It hurts so much to learn this now

But I know for us to grow

I must move on without you

I have to let you go

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.