Poets logo

Trapped

Pushing buttons

By Natalie FelixPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
5

My pulse quickens with each step towards the doors

A cold sweat forms along my hairline

I feel each nerve ending begin to react

And my body starts to tremble

"It's okay, no one is noticing."

We file into the the express

Less stops, faster pace

Not making this any better for me at all

It's crowded

At capacity

Teens, chaperones and Secret Service

There are no stops until we reach the top

I'm completely dizzy;

Swirling faces,

Buttons,

Holsters,

DING!

I open my eyes and I'm in a seated position

A chaperone to my right

Secret Service to my left and directly in front

Everything is distorted

Sound, vision, location, time.

As I gain my bearings, ready for it to be over,

The doors open again,

For the second half of my nightmare to the top...

performance poetryfact or fiction
5

About the Creator

Natalie Felix

I am an old soul with many stories in my head...from many lifetimes. Some are true. Some less so.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Great job describing the fear. I loved the “ding”. I was right there when it happened.

  • Mohammed Darasi10 months ago

    Damn.. that would definitely be a scary experience. I used to live in a highrise building when I was younger and the lift used to stop working quite often so I had been stuck in it so many times.. the first few times it was definitely scary, but I think the exposure therapy took care of that 😅

  • Jordan Sky Daniels10 months ago

    Not you trying to cue my anxiety. I hate lifts but will use with dread

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.