Poets logo

Trapped.

Old Poem - 29-12-2013

By Erin ShieldsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
3

A poem I wrote a long time ago. This was before I was diagnosed with Bipolar and then Borderline Personality Disorder. It was my way back then to I guess vent a lot of what I had held inside for so long. It was such a cathartic release and this coping mechanism has stuck with me to this day. Now though I can find enjoyment in writing not just as a release but as a hobby, to improve my skills as well. If any of you are going through a hard time right now reach out to someone who'll listen and care. Get help I didn't do it soon enough. I wish I'd got help sooner but everything has a way of working itself out.

This poem may be a reflection of shame, anger, guilt, blame etc. But this is not how I am to this day. This poem helped me move past it. Sometimes memories come back but I can say I am definitely not feeling how I did when I wrote this. I do however hope that maybe some of you can read this, relate and feel less alone.

Empty rooms,

mirrors top to bottom,

nothing but time,

reflect upon past sins,

for when judgement day looms,

I won’t be handed in

chained and shackled to the devil,

I will atone for my sin.

Scratching the walls,

written confessions with blood,

trapped inside,

mirrors unforgiving on the eye.

Voices screaming,

dirty and unashamed,

only trying to lay the blame,

god forbid you find it in yourself,

admit you had a part to play,

in me turning out this way.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Erin Shields

27. England. Poet. I have Bipolar, BPD & Anxiety. I’ve been writing since I was 18 as an outlet for my mental health.

I also have a Ko-Fi with more of my work: https://ko-fi.com/erin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.