Poets logo

Trapped In Glass

A Place Of Reflection

By Adam EvansonPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
1
Trapped In Glass
Photo by Artyom Kim on Unsplash

They put me inside a prison of glass

For something I said sometime in the past

They won't tell me what, who, how, or why

I have my suspicions I made someone cry

I thought we'd made up, shook hands and kissed

Clearly there was something I had patently missed

Sometimes my friends tap the window and wave

Through the crystal walls of my transparent cave

I wonder if she knows the trouble she's caused

Or if she claps with a round of applause

I wonder if she's happy now I have been gagged

A stern telling off with a forefinger wagged

This vitreous cell shall contain not my dreams

I can straddle the world deaf to the screams

Of the world outside far beyond my realm

This unfair treatment shall not overwhelm

In my fertile imagination, the whole world is mine

I can close my eyes and see with my mind

I am the master of my very own domain

And I'm happy to accept that here I shall remain

I shall build castles for a brave new world

Where I am alone giving it a whirl

I shall pass my time with a cloud's grace

The brilliant stars will light up my face

I will chase my dreams like a beautiful spaniel

Running after butterflies across a field called Nathaniel

And imprisonment shall not wither me not one jot

For in my mind, I am happy with my lot

I thank you kindly for the good turn I received

I can't tell you how much I am relieved

I know you wanted to teach me a lesson

But in actual fact, what you did was a blessing

You saved me from having to deal with you

I would rather deal with a tatty old shoe

An old raincoat will never let you down

It's so much better than seeing your frown

I bid you a good life in your struggle to shine

But your light will never be brighter than mine.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Adam Evanson

I Am...whatever you make of me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Great 🩷🧡💜🧨 fantastic work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.