Poets logo

Transfiguration

free verse poem

By Randy BakerPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
image generated by author using Midjourney

Consume me with fire

that does not burn.

Let me shine forth

like the midday sun.

Bathe me in the light of Tabor.

*

I yearn to be aflame

like Seraphim of Sarov,

or Abba Joseph in the desert.

Like Adam in the garden,

clothe me in radiance.

*

Illumine me

that I might be a beacon.

Enlighten me

that I might reflect

the glory of Your endless dawn.

*

Yet, if such majesty

is not meant for me,

let me flicker,

a candle in the darkness,

Do as You will and transfigure me.

Free Verse

About the Creator

Randy Baker

Poet, author, essayist.

Follow me on X

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Beautifully written!😊

  • D. J. Reddall4 months ago

    An inspired invocation!

Randy BakerWritten by Randy Baker

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.