Poets logo

Tranlusence Fades

a true color pride poem

By CH SandlerPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Tranlusence Fades
Photo by Gabriel on Unsplash

If I were a color, I’d be translusent

And I would shimmer when the light hit me.

I’d be full of air, and I would float away.

Carefree, I would have no thoughts,

feeling whole would not be an idea I strived for.

I’d feel strength in the weak times,

when the pain of living becomes too much to bear.

Instead, I feel hollow and see-through and dull,

Never what I hope for.

And my anger grows

A reminder of what I’m missing

It becomes apparent in the shadows,

Where translucence fades into the background

The air I breathe, that once marched purposefully until the gray retreated,

Is poison in my lungs,

Leaving me gasping and struggling for hope - in anything,

Let me be someone that nothing matters to.

The ache is so constant,

I’ve grown accustomed to it.

It wears me like a second skin until I start to fade,

In its absence, I find myself gripping memories of the pain while I cling to the rejection of a love I thought was forever.

Until they become so intertwined, I can’t tell them apart.

The pain or the lost love-

I miss them both.

Like a phantom limb with an itch, I can't scratch; I reach for it anyway.

My attempt falling short,

Wishing I could be anywhere else

I close my eyes and think . . .

. . . If I were a color.

Please follow me, like it, and share if you liked what I wrote. Also, if you care to send a tip, I would appreciate that immensely!

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.