Poets logo

Tragedy & Growth

one and the same

By HufflecupPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

tragedy breeds growth

but does it always have to destroy something first

I lost a part of me I liked

now I have to be something new

but I get lost in the darkness on the way

when I see the light again the colors are all different

and I miss the certainty of pain

happiness always comes and goes

melancholy is an old friend

optimism the siren waiting in the depths

changing requires too much chance

I rather laugh off a tragedy

and go my merry way

because I know another bad day will come

and I will endure

because I have already bloomed

slam poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentaryart
1

About the Creator

Hufflecup

I want nothing more than to dedicate my life to writing, so I figured I would start here to test the waters. I will be submitting stories to as many communities as possible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.