Poets logo

Touching the Sky

For Real Poetic's Mini Challenge

By Cezanne LibellenPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
10
Touching the Sky
Photo by Taylor Van Riper on Unsplash

My fingers brush the sky

I seem to fly

But I can't hold onto the azure expanse

Thus begins my last dance.

...

I tipped over, off the peak

All my prospects seem bleak

Through the chilly air

Mercilessly, I tear.

...

Clouds bid me farewell

As I fell

Now I can't see them

Because I'm condemned.

...

I didn't see it coming

The strangers saw me falling

Through an act of frenzied caring

Caught me, on a whim so daring.

...

Dazed, I stumble away

To find some place to lay

My weary head, and vow never

To hike again, ever.

...

Thank you for reading!!

I entered this in Real Poetic's poetry competition. If you want a chance to compete, you can enter right here:

performance poetry
10

About the Creator

Cezanne Libellen

I am an ailurophile, xocolatophile, linguaphile, lexophile, and a bibliophile. Writing is my passion. I am currently working on a novel. Subscribe and share my stories if you want to see more of my work!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Awesome poem!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Very nicely done.

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    I hiked a lot back in the day. Thankfully I never fell. Glad you got caught to see some more bright days.

  • Jordan Sky Daniels10 months ago

    Oh man I love hiking. I was mad at my love of it after this poem.

  • I would never ever go hiking, lol! Awesome poem!

  • Mesh Toraskar10 months ago

    This is wonderful, especially love the ending haha

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    This was great!!!!! ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.