Poets logo

Torn Into Pieces

I Shouldn't Have Waited

By Will WoodPublished 12 days ago Updated 12 days ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Gajus / Adobe Stock

I wish I knew the things to say.

I wish I knew the things to do.

Was I enough? I guess I'll never know.

Perhaps I took too long. Time does not wait.

It is like a train at the station. A boat at the dock.

One must hurry, lest ye soon be departed.

If only I were faster, maybe things would be different.

Instead of two separate journeys, we'd be travelling as one.

Now, I'm alone and without you.

My heart weeps over what could have been.

Tears pouring both inside and out.

Drowning in both sadness and sorrow, I can't help but blame myself.

Because it's all my fault.

What could have been must remain as imagination.

I bear this punishment for my own hesitation.

Just like time, love also does not wait.

It is a tender rope that is held together by bristles of affection.

Without care, those bristles will break.

One by one, until there is nothing left.

Until eventually, everything snaps.

This is why we call them heartstrings.

And mine are torn into pieces.

heartbreaklove poems
1

About the Creator

Will Wood

I am a 30-year-old gentleman from the far south of Mississippi. I enjoy reading, writing, cooking, and entertaining others. Every day has a new lesson -- for life is but a constant of trials and new experiences.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 days ago

    Gosh this was so poignant and emotional! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.