Poets logo

Torn

Falling for Your Lies

By Kari HammondPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I hold my breath trying not to cry

You broke me once again

To believe I tried to be everything for you

I tried not to get all mushy

I faked a smile and a laugh or two

I wanted you to be happy

I thought you would stay

I told myself lies

So my sky wouldn’t seem so gray

I got told to get over you

But how can I

When you gave me so much to remember

I will always love you

Even if my heart gets destroyed

I cried and cried for you

But I guess it was all for nothing

I wanted you to see

What you do to me

But I guess I ask for too much

Or is it the fact

You’re not trying hard enough

I gave you my all

You watched me slip and fall

I guess I just wanted to believe

That there would always be you and me

People tell me its your loss

But what exactly are you losing...

A girl like me?

What’s so special about a girl like me?

People say I’m sweet and kind

Then why do I always get left behind?

People say I’m caring

Then why am I being called selfish

I know these are just words

That shouldn’t hurt

But coming from people that you thought cared

Does leave a burn..

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kari Hammond

So, what I have up currently is some old pieces of stuff I did a few years ago. Trying to slowly move back into writing and am super grateful to all those who read.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.