Poets logo

Goodbye

Poem for Drunk Driving

By Kari HammondPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Walking in the night

Heading on home

Only the moonlight

While I roam

A car coming down the street

The man drinking

And bottles at his feet

This is where we'll be meeting

Almost there

It's too late

On the ground is where

I meet my mate

Death is my penalty

Life is his maker

I'm already gone mentally

He was my breaker

Sirens in the distant

Family all around

Paramedics are my assistant

In the ambulance they mound

One last breath

Too much blood gone

Nothing left, no health

Everything done

Cries echoing in the sky

Tears fill the eyes

All that's left is a sigh

And I die

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kari Hammond

So, what I have up currently is some old pieces of stuff I did a few years ago. Trying to slowly move back into writing and am super grateful to all those who read.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.