Poets logo

Too scared to love

The fear of love and commitment

By Dr. KrissPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
Too scared to love
Photo by Womanizer Toys on Unsplash

I want to love you, but I'm afraid
Of what might happen if I do
Will you hurt me, betray me, or leave me
Or will you stay loyal, faithful, and true?

I want to commit to you, but I'm scared
Of what might change if I say yes
Will you cage me, control me, or smother me
Or will you free me, support me, and bless?

I want to trust you, but I'm doubtful
Of what you might do with my heart
Will you break it, abuse it, or ignore it
Or will you heal it, cherish it, and guard?

I want to be with you, but I'm hesitant
Of what the future might hold for us
Will you grow with me, laugh with me, or dream with me
Or will you stagnate, cry, or fuss?

I want to open up to you, but I'm nervous
Of what you might think of me
Will you judge me, mock me, or reject me
Or will you accept me, respect me, and see?

I want to share with you, but I'm shy
Of what you might say or do
Will you listen, understand, or comfort me
Or will you interrupt, argue, or accuse?

I want to give you, but I'm cautious
Of what you might expect or demand
Will you appreciate, reciprocate, or thank me
Or will you take, manipulate, or command?

sad poetrylove poems
1

About the Creator

Dr. Kriss

Sharing insights and practical tips to unlock your potential and lead a healthy and fulfilling life.

#health #lifestyle #history #advice, and empowerment.

Let's explore together!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani3 months ago

    I could sense your fear, your feelings through this poem. Nicely written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.