Poets logo

Tomorrow

No time like the present

By RL StevensonPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
21
Tomorrow
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Today,

I will to do what I can,

for tomorrow is promised not to man.

***

The Sun will shine,

and the Moon will glow...

... but what Tomorrow holds,

I do not know.

***

The stars still shine,

the oceans gleam;

ever excluding my hopes and dreams.

***

I will!

I shall,

I'll conquer!

I demand.

***

Proclamations of Self,

to do all I've planned.

***

But, never reaching those things

I soon decree.

For these things,

and even Life,

are not promised to me.

***

Desires unfulfilled,

Wishes faded.

All that I've longed for,

abruptly evaded.

***

So, with every precious moment,

I'll live for Today.

With words from my lips,

It's now what I say.

***

I yield and submit,

I affirm and understand, that....

...Life has not the master plan,

but the Plan is in The Master's Hands. 

Gratitude
21

About the Creator

RL Stevenson

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    This was extremely powerful, profound and very optimistic! Loved your poem so much! Congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!!

  • olymoolla3 months ago

    You have written so many beautiful stories your story is admirable please visit my vocal id and read a story please

  • R N Sharma3 months ago

    I love poetry that is easy to comprehend and fun. Your poem seems to do just that. Keep writing, keep rocking!

  • A. Lenae3 months ago

    Aside from the really uplifting and motivating message of this poem, I love your craft and lyrical pacing; it not only humming with light and encouragement, but it's so darn pleasing and harmonious to read.

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Oh, I love this. Whenever I find myself feeling burnt out, I remind myself "Don't force it." Having faith in something larger than yourself is so important. This is a beautiful reminder to relax and soak up the beauty of life. 💗

  • Gabriel Huizenga3 months ago

    A truly lovely piece, even as it explores the very relatable aches of unmet yearnings...thank you for sharing this beauty!

  • Ashley Shiflett3 months ago

    Perfect poem! I loved every line. It's very uplifting. Congrats on top story!

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    Fantastic poem! Very poetic! Love and live for today!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.