Poets logo

Token Black

The Disparaging Race

By Stephanie J. BradberryPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2023
65
Token Black
Photo by The Jopwell Collection on Unsplash

Perhaps you thought this should be a rap

about how much I love being Black.

But there’s a lot of misconception, you see,

about what it means to be melanated me.

For I am what you call a Token Black,

a fate once fulfilled by Whites means your career’s a wrap.

Affirmative Action and all that’s a load hooey,

best to be flushed like a chunk of dookie.

I’d rather face the racist face-to-face.

Forcing them to mask their hate is such a waste.

Token Blacks become strange fruit like a raisin in the sun,

our journey ended before a magical run or it’s even begun.

There’s so much more about what it means

to go through this life as colored little me.

About The Author

Stephanie is a freelance writer and editor, educator and consultant. To learn more, visit stephaniebradberry.com

Read More

social commentary
65

About the Creator

Stephanie J. Bradberry

I have a passion for literature and anime. And I love everything involving academia, health, metaphysics and entrepreneurship. For products and services, visit stephaniebradberry.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (37)

Sign in to comment
  • Judah LoVato4 months ago

    A potent poem! I really liked the line "Token Blacks become strange fruit like a raisin in the sun,"- is 'strange fruit' a Billie Holiday reference?

  • Tim Boxer6 months ago

    Powerful. Thank you

  • Patrick M. Ohana7 months ago

    A poignant piece!

  • Odinaka Udewena 8 months ago

    Black is beautiful

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    That's so interesting to hear your perspective, thank you for putting it out.

  • Spencer Hawken10 months ago

    That’s was great fun, while obviously filled with your important messages. I’m a white male born into a predominantly black family. In my youth I had real issues with being treated “differently” by my family. I was always segregated, when gifts were being handed out, mine was always the worst. But as I grew older I saw the racism my family endured and I cannot help but wonder (because nobody is left to ask) if my great grandmother (and her children) was trying to teach me what it was like to be black in a country where black voices were never allowed to be heard.

  • Naveedkk 10 months ago

    Your words beautifully capture the complexities of being Black in a society that often oversimplifies our experiences."

  • Amjad Ateih Dib11 months ago

    it is a nice one , we are all human and we are from one source , ALLAH create us

  • Hamza Shafiqabout a year ago

    very nice

  • Shams Ul Qammarabout a year ago

    Dear Stephanie ! Your poem encourages open dialogue and confrontation of racism, rather than allowing it to be masked or ignored. Keep using your words to raise awareness and promote understanding. Well done!

  • Jeremy Christopherabout a year ago

    So much candor sweetened with bitter honey. Very nicely done! I appreciate the bold word choice and rhythm.

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Oh wow, very powerful and with a bit of humor. It's an interesting point of view, 'rather face the racists face to face than have them mask their hate' I really liked that line. Well done!

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    This is the story of my life. Thank you for this one!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Wow that was powerful congratulations on a well deserved top story.

  • Safeera Satharabout a year ago

    👍👍👍

  • Lovely ❤️💯Congratulations on Top Story🎉💜✨😉

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Even if said in a thousand different ways. Does it ever change we wonder. Always hope. Congrats on TS.

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    This powerful poem challenges the idea of tokenism and highlights the realities of being a person of color in a society that perpetuates systemic racism and discrimination.

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    This hit very close to home. I grew up in a white neighborhood so of course the school was 95% white. I experienced the token right away but didn't fully understand racism until a guy called me pubic head (referring to my afro) He was an A**hole to everyone. His comment was the beginning of me embracing who I was and defending my culture. Thanks for writing and sharing this.

  • Abdul Razackabout a year ago

    Well done, great

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    This is so well stated. I work in the non profit world and sometimes I feel the racism is worse than for profit especially in leadership/management roles. Congratulations on your top story too!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    I appreciated reading your important insight on this important topic. Thank you for sharing it! :)

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    I get where you are coming from. I try not to get so frustrated by things happening. Especially when I've seen how far the United States has come and then in these last 6 years to witness all the backwards steps we've been taking. It really is a shame. I hope that we can get back to a point where the United States progresses forward instead of moving backward.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!!

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Seriously wonderful and brilliant! Congrats on top story- very deserving!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.