Poets logo

Today is the day

A poem about the pressure of growing up and accepting change that will inevitably come

By anonanniePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Today is the day
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

Today's the day

Are you ready to see?

All that has happened

Life not yet lived thanks to me

For my fear of change

Is what keeps me in regret

It's my thoughts that cloud over me

And I ask, has life happened yet?

Everyone around me seems to be ahead

I know I'm alive yet I feel like I'm dead

My breath held under water, my hands start to prune

As my lines grow longer, I feel like I'm doomed

I'm stuck in a pattern, that no one can see

For the one that's responsible, happens to be me

Life is filled with beauty, yet dread is what shines

Such is this misery that looks at me and says

You're mine

Today's the day

The voice says again

My face looks different

My heart pleads not again

For time is running out

Their smiles widened in good measure

Change is inevitable, it tells you

While everyone laughs in pleasure

Today's the day

The voice bellowing now

But this time I'm stronger

As I take a bow

Though I am not as younger

My bright eyes still the same

I reach for the sky

The water now falling around my face

Today is the day!

The voice now my own

Life can be scary

For sometimes, you'll be alone

But life is a round-trip

The journey though unknown

There is just as much joy out there

Waiting to be shown

You can't do this

The voice will try to say

But now you're much stronger, and no longer look its way

It's all just too risky, the voice says with spite

But it is just as beautiful, you'll say

And I will put up a good fight

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

anonannie

Writing has been an escape for me. Thanks to whoever takes the time to read my stories! I appreciate it. I am learning a lot along the way through reading others' wonderful creative stories and learning a lot about myself through my own. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.