Poets logo

Mother of Mine

a poem about a mother who is diagnosed with depression

By anonanniePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Mother of Mine
Photo by Volkan Olmez on Unsplash

Mother of mine, please come home

We all miss you from here

Your steel-cold bed is not your safe place

It's been your jail cell for over a year

Your blankets hold you in a headlock

Your pillow used to hide your face

Mother of mine, please come home

You are to be here with us and not in that dark place

Mother of mine, whose glow was so bright

You lit up any room you were in

You were the best of all of us

Well now tell me how long has it been?

Since your kind eyes informed me of safety

Your laugh and your hugs calmed my fuss

Mother of mine, please come back

Can't you hear me, please just listen, you must

Mother of mine, you're looking through me

You're somewhere far away

I need you to come back, I'll drop to the knee

And tell you there will be brighter days

I'll tell you stories of the days that were good

A reminder that things do get better

You must understand this poison is lying to you

And remember, before, who you were

Mother of mine, I love you so much

Why did things have to turn out this way

Is something I ask Him all the time

As you close your eyes next to me and lay

I'm sorry if my hope is overbearing

That is something that will never change

But please know it's because I love you

And I will not give up to the last day

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

anonannie

Writing has been an escape for me. Thanks to whoever takes the time to read my stories! I appreciate it. I am learning a lot along the way through reading others' wonderful creative stories and learning a lot about myself through my own. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.