Poets logo

Today is Mine

Choose Freedom

By KJ AartilaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
18
Today is Mine
Photo by Steve Halama on Unsplash

Today, I am free. Free of the procession I’ve let overtake me. Progressively eroding my confidence, my ability, my independence; I’ve let it limit my performance, unbalanced. I’ve turned over control to an unseen menace of the mind.

Today, I take back the power of me. This challenge requires my time, but not my life. I decide.

Today, I will no longer be the shadow of this challenge – it shall be the shadow of me.

Today, this unpredictable everyday, is mine. Today, I reclaim all those attributes that make me myself.

Today, as of this moment, the question is not “Can I?” but is “How do I?”

By Amir Esrafili on Unsplash

If you like this piece. please send e a "like" by clicking on the "heart" icon below. Thanks for reading!

inspirational
18

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.