Poets logo

To you, my shelter...

No matter how tough the road is, getting to you makes it all worth it. It's true when they say that home is where the heart is.

By Jonas CasillasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I have never known the difference between a house and a home. I've never cared for it. I just know I've always wanted to have one so I can call my own.

To me, it's the ultimate possession. The visual representation that I have made it. To show it off, to give a purpose and meaning to my life, and I have been fortunate enough to live at different places, and all of them have contributed to my safety and growth as a person, without asking for anything in return.

I have moved on from each and every one of them without asking myself if they needed a new coat of paint, or maybe something they required from me. I never invested in them. I always wanted to keep searching for that perfect house. The search excited me.

Always afraid to stay in one place, and terrified to commit myself to a long term deal, home was still an unknown and alien feeling. My arrogance and insecurity blinded me to the point of believing I didn't need to make an effort to take care of them.

Until I found this fixer upper-upper. A beautiful, quaint and humble place. At first glance, this house had everything against it. It needed a lot of attention, so many areas that needed to be repaired, and it had been stripped down to its foundations.

And yet, I was drawn to it. Why?

The warm I felt under my skin, the peace I felt in my soul, was something I've never felt before. I felt safe and happy, and I was scared.

Scared because I didn't deserve this beautiful shelter. It had gone through so much, and yet it was providing me with everything I needed.

Now, I know what it means to have a home, a shelter. A place where I can be free. It may not last, but for now, there is no other place I rather be, and I will be whatever it needs me to be.

Home is there to provide me with a safe space for my heart, but I also need to pay attention to its needs. Selfishness stays out at the door. It's only a home if the love is reciprocal.

To you, my shelter, life is easier when I feel you around me. Thank you for opening your door to me.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jonas Casillas

Retired Witcher & Gwent ex-champion,

Keeper of the Dalish & useless pop culture references,

Soccer prodigy but then I took an arrow to the knee.

Comics, Film, Sports

IG: jonascasillas7

Twitter:@KirkwallChamp7

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.