Poets logo

To You I Clutch

A Love Language Villanelle

By Loryne AndaweyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2023
53
To You I Clutch
Photo by Catherine on Unsplash

I never thought I’d love through touch

I seldom hugged or kissed a cheek

But lately it’s to you I clutch.

❤️

Receiving gifts, I don’t like much

Save for your hand I often seek

I never thought I’d love through touch.

❤️

Though compliments I won’t begrudge

I too sing praises when I speak

But lately it’s to you I clutch.

❤️

I’ll serve myself though I may trudge

But in your helping hands I’m weak

I never thought I’d love through touch.

❤️

But time is where I wouldn’t budge

Close affections are what I need

And lately it’s to you I clutch.

❤️

I thought I knew me and as such

I knew what made my love unique.

I never thought I’d love through touch

But lately it’s to you I clutch.

*

*

Thank you for lingering ❤️

listlove poems
53

About the Creator

Loryne Andawey

Health, Happiness & Abundance.

Currently enjoying the company of Francis, Mike, C.H., Gammastack, Michelle, Cosimo, Kristen, Bronson, Bella, Talia, Sean, Babs, Kelli, Rick, Dharrsheena, Heather, Gina and many, many more!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (30)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    This was beautiful the repetition in this really held me wrapped to the words

  • Muhammad Naveedabout a year ago

    it is so beautiful indeed keep writing like this. you may like this too https://vocal.media/poets/the-beauty-in-every-curve

  • Swede1972about a year ago

    Nice Villanelle. Thanks for sharing.

  • Cathy Deslippeabout a year ago

    Well written and truly felt from my heart. For sight, I lost but came back; touch was my way of communicating. Thank you,

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    nicely written!!!

  • Lauraabout a year ago

    Sooo Lovely ...

  • Kelly Robertsonabout a year ago

    This is so sweet! I love the repetition throughout that then turns into the final lines of the poem. Very heartfelt. Great job!

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    I finally read this piece and It’s so sweet — I love that you chose a villanelle for the structure.

  • Jess Boyesabout a year ago

    Really beautiful :)

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Great villanelle.I love this form and I enjoy following your passion with traditional poetry structure.

  • Triantafyllos Saridisabout a year ago

    The way you share your feelings through this poem is so beautiful. Thank you!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Wow wow wow!! And congrats on the top story!!! 😁

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Wow! You made that look and sound so easy. I really loved the use of the word 'clutch'. Really wonderful work :) And congratulations on Top Story!!!!

  • Villanelle is a form of poetry that I'm so terrified to try, I have no idea why. I've always been impressed with Mike for his Villanelles and now you've impressed me too! Such a beautifully executed Villanelle! Also, congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    Wow that was great

  • Robbie Reamerabout a year ago

    Lovely poem!

  • Beautiful ❤️💯

  • Lori Meltonabout a year ago

    So beautiful- congrats! Very heartfelt, Lorene! Subscribed! ❤️

  • Devyn Sharelabout a year ago

    Such a sweet poem. I loved it.

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Nice & sweet. Good job! :)

  • Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Perfect timing for a thoughtful love poem. Hearted and subscribed.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Gorgeous and sweet. I wonder how this feels? Hearted and subscribed

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful piece. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.