Poets logo

To Those Left Behind

By Brianna Galligan

By Brianna Lynn GalliganPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2

I cannot tell you what comes next

Or tell you what will be .

Or say that all of us are blessed.

I can only speak of me.

I cannot tell you reasons why

Things don’t work out that way.

I cannot tell you when to cry

When life’s fabrics gently fray.

I cannot be there all the time

At least not physically

But know I’ll be there on a dime

If and when you need me.

I know the times are trying

And life seems very hard.

I know the feel of sighing

As the heart breaks off a shard.

I’ve found the stillest silence

As the mind ebbs and flows.

I know a belief’s reliance

When sorrow deals you blows.

Yet in the darkest hour

As you trudge steadily through hell

I will never leave you

Until sweet heaven’s bell.

And though the years move onward

And though we cannot be.

Know I hear your every word

See everything you see.

And while you look through glass of blue

I’ll never leave your side.

For my soul became a part of you

The moment that I died..

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.