Poets logo

To the Shores of Knowing...

the journey continues

By Kim ThayerPublished 2 years ago 2 min read

I’m ripped open

torn up

raw

and bleeding

A crimson deluge

Of emotions

pouring into a sea

of Unknowing

*

I thought I knew

who I was -

Who I can be,

but I’m gone,

lost -

Again.

*

Uncharted waters

roar before me -

as always, it seems

Will I forever plunder

aimlessly,

navigating the muddy waters

of Obscurity?

*

Sometimes,

I make it…

grasping,

clambering,

dragging myself,

safely

onto the surety of

unshakeable shores,

anchored in Knowing -

feeling balmy breezes

soothe my tattered skin,

but it all seems so

fleeting…

*

Still.

*

Even if it’s

for just

but a mere Moment

in Time,

feeling the soundness

of the earth beneath

my weary body,

grounding me,

rooting me

to the womb

of Life,

I feel as if

I’m a speck of

The All,

corded to the Earth

like a famished fetus,

my heart pounding

to the

primal beat

of her Core,

Her essence…

sweeping through me,

nourishing each cell,

breathing vital winds

into my amorphous lungs.

*

In that momentary

gasp

of Eternity…

*

I know who I am.

*

On these unfailing shores

of Knowing,

I look up,

with bloodshot eyes,

still gritty with the

arid harshness

of salty seas.

I seek the Light,

and I find it -

but its sheer

brilliance -

splendid to those

used to luminescence -

blinds me.

*

But if I stand

in stillness long enough,

if I remain immovable,

a statue,

frozen within the realm

of Fixed Time,

the Light grows.

It leisurely, yet

assuredly

seeps into

my Center of Being,

igniting a

worn and withered

candle,

its long-extinguished wick,

buried beneath

melted wax,

brittle and cracked

from eons of

sitting on the shelf

of Dusty Darkness.

*

Still, the Light

burrows…

exposing the viability

of the wick,

and with a tender

flick of fiery fingers,

it sparks…

*

and I am

reborn

within

The Blaze

of…

*

Purpose.

*

….

I’m ripped open

torn up

raw

and bleeding

A crimson deluge

Of emotions

pouring into a sea

of Unknowing

*

I remain

Shattered,

A Splintered Ship,

Adrift

in the Vapid Sea

of Forgetfulness.

*

I long for The Day

when I

once again

crash upon

the steady shores

of Knowing.

I ache to feel

the life-giving comfort

of terra beneath my

cracked and trembling

feet…

*

Where the wreckage that

is Me

rediscovers the treasure

of Illumination,

feeling its soothingly

intentional

touch

once more…

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Kim Thayer

I was 8 yrs old when I asked for an electric typewriter for Christmas. From my earliest days, I learned that I can more easily explore the depths of me & express myself in writing. Now, I've decided to start sharing. Thanks for reading!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kim ThayerWritten by Kim Thayer

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.